The Duke Energy truck......

At 11:02 am, the electric failed.   After reporting the outage to the company, I received a text that told me the power would be on by 2:30pm.
   The hour came and went.   The temperature inside my house rose to 85,   I called the power company to ask, politely, ( catch more flies with honey than vinegar, right?)  when the power would be back.   The lady I spoke with said it was on......   No, there is no power.    Well, another text came on the phone......   Power would be restored by 4:30.
   By now the dogs are panting, I am sweating and miserable.   We got  (girls and myself)  in the car and headed out for Loews.    The dogs and I headed out to walk the isles, it is one of the very few  places dogs can go in.   We were welcomed and encouraged to sit on the patio furniture and be comfortable.  We did, and we were.
   After several hours, I returned home only to find this truck and another on the road near my house with 2 crews working up high on the power poles.
"Yeah.... power is on!!!"    No luck.......  the garage door wouldn't open, the AC wasn't running.   The thermostat said 96, the house was like an oven!
    As I used the bathroom, the air from the ceiling started moving, I listened and realized the AC was on now!  I flipped a switch.....LIGHTS came on!   Oh, we were set..... in an hour or 2 the temp should be reasonable.....   my horrible, no good, terribly hot day was over!    Not yet......  I grabbed my phone, jumped in the car, and went to get a blip photo.....   one truck had already left but I was able to capture this photo.   I would like to thank all of the utility workers who are out in the heat, sweating and working long hours, so I can be cool.

Where's the wine!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.