WIDE ANGLE AND WILD WEDNESDAY

After a lovely evening at cricket for Mr. HCB and our older son, Martyn, basking in the late evening sunshine, the rain during the night and again this morning has been torrential, but we console ourselves with the fact that it is doing the gardens good - we just hope it knows when to stop!

I was quite late getting up, because I was up until the early hours trying to turn my Powerpoint Presentation into a movie, but had to give up in the end - however, I hope to crack it before too long.  Having had my shower and lounging in my pink robe, I thought it might be a good idea to go out into the garden to take a wide angle shot, so put on my plastic pink flip flops and out I went.

I have heard it said that rainwater is good for the hair, so thought I would try it and see - and I certainly got very wet as I wandered around the garden.

Last year, Mr. HCB grew some Trombioncino courgettes but he let them “creep” along the ground with the result that they got rather dirty and didn’t do that well, so this year he decided to build a frame and here it is - they can grow to over three feet in length, but because they are shaped like a trombone - hence the name - they don’t look quite that long.  However, they like to climb and scramble over frames and arches, so hopefully, they will do well here.

It all looks a bit like “The Garden of the Triffids” and with this rain they could very well climb over into our neighbours’ garden, so think we had better warn them and their dog!  There are also some butternut squashes in amongst the Trombioncinos and I hope that they are as successful as they were last year.  

You can see the rest of the garden in the extra photograph and if you are wondering what the white shroud is, that is Mr. HCB’s, as yet unpatented invention, using net curtains to keep the butterflies off his kaylettes, a cross between kale and brussels sprouts, so watch this space, or that space!

“Gardening is about cheating, 
     about persuading unlikely plants 
          to survive in unlikely places 
               and when that trick is well accomplished 
                    the results can be highly satisfying.” 
David Wheeler

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.