TINY TUESDAY - EAT IT

Most of you will know that Mr. HCB is a very keen gardener, just as his father was, and he takes great pride in providing food for us to eat.  Now that I can’t do as much, he does look after the flower garden, but home-grown produce is his first love.

When I got up this morning just after 8 a.m. he had already been out in the garden and done quite a lot of work, so he has offered to take me out for coffee - guess that means the housework will have to wait again!

There are so many wonderful “tiny” things in the garden, either waiting to be picked, as these blueberries are, or waiting to grow bigger - see the lovely yellow courgette I have put in as an extra, but which at the moment is less than an inch long (I don’t do metric!)

The blueberries are well netted, because the birds love them, so after fighting my way in through the netting, I was really struck this morning by how “blue” the blueberries are - sometimes when you see them in the shops, they are almost black, but these are a beautiful blue and looked wonderful against the bright green leaves - this photograph has not been touched up at all, so is, in “photographer speak”, SOOC.

We still have lots of other vegetables and salad, and we have cucumbers and gherkins coming out of our ears - and lots of them will be pickled - but the tomatoes are very slow to ripen this year, so as the garlic has already been harvested, guess we will have to wait a while until we can have bruschetta.

Mr. HCB and our older son, Martyn, are going off to cricket tonight to a 20/20 game at Bristol, so I will be finalising my Powerpoint presentation to be used when I lead Worship at Church on 6th August.  I am very excited because after writing to Terri Geisel, whose music I want to use in the background, she has given her permission to use it at Church and also to put it on Youtube, so that’s something else I have to learn.  

Advice from a Blueberry:
Be well rounded
     Soak up the sun
          Find beauty in small things
               Live a fruitful life
                    Be a good pick
                         It’s OK to be a little blue
Make sweet memories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.