stuartjross

By stuartjross

Ben Nevis

I always get frustrated when I see folk taking photos from the road side two paces from the car or even  still seated and shooting from within the vehicle with the maximum exertion being that required to lower the electric window.
The demand of an extra ten paces separates them from something quite nice to that which really needs the delete button because a door mirror or a silly road sign is in their image.

This morning I was running a bit late because I had to hang back a bit in the last patch of phone  signal -before going in to the wonderful Loch Arkaig cellular darkness- to discuss some stuff about our survey with the client. Just before eight there was no answer from him, I left a message, and thankfully A phoned back seconds later to answer our queries over quite an extended call. We were sorted but now really needed to get going.

This corner on the way to Clunes, in my view, is always a photo waiting to happen but often you glance right and the mist is hiding everything. Not this morning!

Will I?

A big yes but definitely no way from the driver seat, I jumped over the road side deer fence and I knew fine to expect the splash, yes, feet soaked, both shoes over the top. A few sloppy steps later perched on wobbly tussocks I get to my chosen point. This is screaming out F11 and a tripod but there isn't any time for that nonsense. A modest aperture allows a hand held shot and then its off to work.

Unusual, I often finish on site soaking but there I was wringing out my socks and trying to get them dry before we had started today. I comforted myself thinking at least I made an effort for my photo.
The Photo:
Taken from the wooded north west shore of Loch Lochy, the hill  middle right is Ben Nevis, Munro No 1 in height, the tallest mountain in Scotland and in the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.