WildWednesday69: Tiny Toad

You know how it is when you get something in your head and you just can't let it go! Well...It's a long story but...we used to have lot's of different kinds of frogs and toads in and around our pond. The PigFrogs (Bullfrogs) gobbled up a lot of them and the owls, hawks and snakes have enjoyed most of what remained. So each year I try my best to 'replenish' our frog and toad population. I take my small net and plastic containers to the DogPark and spend time scooping up tadpoles out of the pond and 're-homing' them in our bog. The pond at the Park is teeming with tadpoles, I took some shots to share but decided not to subject you to all of that. Anyway, for two weeks I've been introducing these tiny creatures to our pond. Of course many most will not survive to adulthood. In fact I spotted two crows sitting at the edge of the bog this morning nonchalantly picking out tadpoles and eating them. Bad Crows! No more peanuts for you! haha
I've been looking for a tadpole all grown up to show you what they look like.  So this is a baby Southern Toad. I should have put something next to it to show scale but...she's about 1/2 inch (1.27cm) long at present. If she survives the perils of the yard, she could grow to 4.5 inches (11.3cm). 
Here's our dog Maica checking out a Southern Toad. Both my four-legged and two-legged friends have become accustomed to seeing me performing this annual ritual! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.