flying ducks

“I’ve come in here more times than I care to remember. Cold. Wet. Bone tired. Not a penny in me purse. And seeing them ducks and that muriel… well they’ve kept me hand away from gas tap. And that’s a fact.”


Today is my 56th birthday. It poured with rain all morning so I sat down and looked over my diary since last July 26th and wrote down all the things I'd done - new stuff like joining a choir, bivvying out and starting work at The Usual Place. New friends I'd made and people I'd met. People I'd said goodbye to. Things I'd decided to stop doing. Things I'd kept on doing (like Blip!). Places I'd been to. It was a pleasing list.


When the rain stopped, D and I went out to the new Devil's Porridge Museum at Eastriggs (where I took this photo). We visited the old harbour at Annan. We had dinner at Hullaballoo. We took Jess for a walk along the Nith.


A good day.


The quote is from Hilda Ogden, by the way, and you can read more about flying ducks here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.