dram

It's my birthday! 

Last night I bivvied out at the far end of Machir Bay - it was a lovely walk along the deserted beach by the light of an almost-full moon. I lay there looking up at the stars coming out, listening to the sea and thinking about my year of being 56 (past) and my year of being 57 (yet to come).

When I woke up it was high tide. I walked back to join D in the van for breakfast and then we both walked along the beach and made a labyrinth.

This afternoon we went on a distillery tour at Kilchoman. It's the newest distillery on Islay and the only one to make a 100% Islay whisky (from barley to bottling, all done on the island). Not all their whisky output is 100% homegrown, but at least some is. D suggested that they should get a wind turbine, as today they would have powered a lot of production!

I also had a birthday shower! Stopped off at the campsite at Port Charlotte to use the lovely facilities.

Now off to Portnahaven. Since I've had a dram 9albeit a very wee one!) I have a chauffeur for the rest of the day (D). He was given his dram in a tiny bottle to enjoy later on :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.