58

After remembering Joe's birth yesterday, I was prompted to read the account my Mum wrote of her experiences having me 58 years ago..I was dragged out with forceps, watched by eight medical students and then whisked away to be cot nursed for 24 hours. Things have changed since then, hopefully for the better!

Anyway, here I am, thankful to have notched up another birthday which some of my friends never lived to see (so I never mind getting older) and as you can see, it's been a lovely day. I'd taken the day off work and we decided to go to Drumlanrig and walk in the castle grounds - it's been ages since we last went and I always enjoy it, especially being around the big trees (including the first Douglas Fir ever to be planted in Britain, in 1829). Then we had a quick tour of the Dunscore Tattie Bogles. There are 44 now and I don't envy the person who has to judge them.

D is cooking tea tonight so I'm going to go outside and finish my book :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.