The Wren

By TheWren

Oasis

I managed to sleep until 4am, meaning I had 7 hours sleep, so I was quite happy with that. Breakfast taken outside before the sun was properly up was totally blissful and I enjoyed a good couple of hours reading before anyone else surfaced.

While the morning was still young my son suggested a walk up at Mount Charleston where last year they went skiing while I walked their golden retriever, Kymba, in the snow. The trail was 6 miles long at 8,000 feet so we took plenty of water with us, for the dogs too (they are looking after another retriever too for a couple of days). The views were amazing and particularly so as the Aspen trees were sporting their bright yellow autumn coats which shone like jewels amongst the dark green of the pines. We had a number of stops for photos and water and at the end of the trail we climbed up above the ski slopes to a large man made lake full of clear water, fed by a natural spring, so that the dogs could enjoy a refreshing swim and drink. The lake has been formed to enable the water to be used to provide artificial snow during the winter for the periods when snowfall is sparse. After such a long walk the time we spent at the lake was magical, especially as by this time the sun had reached its peak and I was sorely tempted to jump in and join the dogs with their swim. You can see one patch of golden aspen trees lighting up the scene to the right of the photo. During the walk I also spotted some flowers new to me, a butterfly and a red 4spot dragonfly (Variegated meadowhawk, I think) , all of which I will put into blipfolio when I can. The flowers were particularly amazing as they were absoutely tiny and I only spotted them when I bent down to tie an errant shoe lace. I think they must be some form of arctic orchid perhaps? (I seem to have made a mess of naming these in blipfolio so when you find the first one via the link, please view the other two by using the right arrow. I would be very grateful for any ID.Thanks)

I have just found this information on the Mt Charleston wilderness -It is a forested oasis that is most known for its 18,000 acres of majestic Bristlecone Pines.

The oldest Bristlecone Pine is called a Raintree and it is estimated to be about 3000 years old. Other trees such as Limber Pines, Ponderosa Pines, White Firs, Quaking Aspens, Cedar Trees, and Mountain Mahogany are abundant also. Various shrubs, herbs and wildflowers add to the beauty of the area.


It was great to have an opportunity to have a good leg stretch after the confinements of the aeroplane yesterday and to be able to enjoy such breathtaking scenery in the process. Hopefully an early night tonight will see me squarely into Nevada time.

Thank you for your appreciation of the aerial view of the Hoover Dam yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.