"Mommy! Gaylord isn't sharing!"

Dear Diary,

Squirrel Nutkin was most displeased...Gaylord wouldn't let her anywhere near the seed bowls!  She would approach slowly (extra photo) and at the last minute he would charge her.  She would then retreat up the tree and chatter and flick her tail. She would look right at me as if to say, "Are you going to do anything about this injustice?"  Finally, her patience won out and Gaylord lumbered away and Squirrel Nutkin was able to have a bit of breakfast.

I think the extra photograph really shows their subtle differences in color and of course size.  I think Squirrel Nutkin has some babies so I am glad she was finally able to eat.  Gaylord really thinks he is king around here, cheeky fellow.

What a beautiful cool morning!  Only 48F!  I started my "Christmas in July" project yesterday, making little cards using reproductions of vintage Christmas carols and the star book idea I learned a few weeks ago...another extra.  My grandmother always started her Christmas presents in July, her red mittens.  It took her that long to make the dozens of pairs she needed for all the children in the extended family.  My little star Christmas cards will be for my cousins at our annual party in December.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.