A Walk by the Lake

Dear Diary,

It was so nice to spend the afternoon with my cousins at the lake.  I was able to spend some one-on-one time with my favorite cousin Patti who is facing open heart surgery soon.  We chatted and enjoyed watching mama duck and her two adolescents walk on the edge of the bay.  Mama kept a watchful eye on us as the kids foraged.  The sunlight on the water made small sprinkles of light which was just lovely.

Family friends from Napal were there.  People are gathering for a memorial service for my two other cousins daughters who died this past year way, way too young.  The service will be here on Saturday and I am sure it will be a moving and heart-wrenching event for us all.  Family holds us together when we are on the verge of falling apart.  It creates bonds that time, distance and even death will not break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.