Summer by the Lake

Dear Diary,

I grew up around lakes.  Luckily, there are a lot of them around me here in Maine.  This is Pleasant Mountain ski area, now called Shawnee Peak, enjoying a summer sabbatical from its winter role.  They have started having lobster bakes at the peak during the summer, riding up in the chair lifts.  I'll bet the view is amazing.  Now, motor boats buzz around the lake and people are enjoying the water.

I'm off to Black Cat Island today to visit with my cousins.  It is on the much bigger Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire.  Summer time by the lake is such a part of my childhood memory.  Today is supposed to be a break in our horrible humid weather so I am looking forward to a little lakeside reminiscing with my cousins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.