Long day...

07:45

I'm standing outside the house looking at my little pile of luggage. I've just said my goodbyes to MrsCyclops who was still in bed with the cat sleeping on her head. It was dark, and I couldn't see her face but I hope she was OK and will have gone straight back to sleep. It was awful knowing it will be weeks until we're together again, and I'll confess to a wee tear. It would be horrible just waiting there for the taxi, so I'm outside in the fresh air trying to pull myself together.

08:50

I'm through security at Edinburgh airport. I've already bumped into a couple of the other guys, but I'm taking a wee moment to myself in the lounge just now. Check-in was nearly a disaster although thanks to the nicest check-in person in the world I got through OK. First I borrowed a luggage scale from my parents which said my bags were 19.5 and 22kg respectively. Both well under the 23kg limit. The airport scale had them at 25 and 26kg though. Then she told me my ticket was only showing 1 bag. Now my e-ticket doesn't show any baggage information on it so I've been back and forwards with the travel agent confirming it was 2 bags. All the other guys checked in with 2 OK. Then I noticed that the zip on one of my new suitcases was looking dodgy so I had to leave the desk and get a strap. I thought for a moment there my credit card was going to be pillaged, but the lovely servisair girl turned a blind eye to the extra bag (saying my ticket was obviously wrong) and the overweight... I even managed to get exit-row seats for my long legs (I think!). I could have done without those stresses. Deep breaths.

22:27

Amsterdam was fine, the contingent of 5 from Edinburgh went for lunch before meeting the Glasgow and Aberdeen folks and catching the Boston flight. I had an exit row seat although I was next to a baby which had me slightly worried (I have an allergy to crying) but wee Joshua was a gem. He smiled and gurgled happily, never howling once. There was some slight confusion with immigration forms, but overall entry to the US was straightforward and my baggage all arrived in tact. There was a shuttle bus waiting at the airport as promised.

We arrived at Babson a fair bit later than expected, so I was too late to call MrsCyclops which is a bit of a blow. We managed to exchange texts though, and I really hope we'll catch up tomorrow. I've forced myself to unpack to keep myself awake to help adjust to the time zone, but it's nearly time to succumb to sleep. It's been a long day, and my body thinks it's 3:30am!

My picture today? It's my room at the Babson Executive Education Center, which I know various folks back home will be curious to see. My home for the next 16 weeks...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.