Humber Bridge

The forecast was not good. What should we do today?

I told Len I'd never seen the Humber Bridge. He grunted.

I asked Google for a route. As we proceeded, Len became less confident that we were  on the right road. Meanwhile, the rain poured down.

The route took us through some lovely countryside. I'd never realised Lincolnshire could be so attractive. Ultimately, Google had been correct. It was the shortest route with the least amount of traffic.

We'd found a cafe called The Old Tiles House close to the bridge, found the signs, parked and went in for lunch. At the time, the rain was still teeming down.

I was ever so glad that Basil was welcome in the cafe where we had a delicious lunch of soup and sandwiches. By the time we'd finished, the rain had stopped.

A helpful lady in the shop pointed us in the direction of the Humber Bridge viewing point from where I took this photo. I wish I'd been able to find a more interesting viewpoint than this traditional one but at least I was right by the River Humber, and a walk extended all the way along the shore where Len took Basil for a walk. It's a very nice place for a walk.

As I was dismantling the tripod, the rain started once more, and didn't stop until after we'd got back to Trusthorpe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.