MONO MONDAY - I AM AMAZED!

"Texture" - the visual and especially tactile quality of a surface.

When I looked at the subject for this week's Mono Monday challenge and saw it was "texture" I went out into the garden late yesterday afternoon to look around.  I found several things including a big fat slimy slug - see my extra - and when I picked it up on a stick, I found lots of textures, so decided that I would pop it under a flowerpot, with some leaves for food, and in the true ethos of Blip, come back this morning ready to take its photograph.

However, when I lifted the flowerpot, although the leaves had obviously been chewed well during the night, I was amazed that the slug was nowhere to be seen - and yes, I did look inside the flowerpot, before anyone asks!

So now my prime subject was missing, I had to look around again and decided that our log pile would make a good Blip for "texture".  When I looked more closely, as one does when one is a Blipper, I saw a little woodlouse that had made its home in the log pile.  Apparently, they are also known as grammerzows, chiggy pigs, bibble bugs, cud worms, coffin cutters, monkey peas, and tiggyhogs - what wonderful names! 

I must admit that ever since we have had this log pile in our garden, which is a good few years now, I haven't looked at it much.  The logs didn't always look like this, but there are lots of little creatures in there as I noticed today - so all these little bugs and insects are doing their job well and provided me with a good Blip into the bargain.

"Only in black and white 
     can I see the design and textures. 
I don't consider color photography art. 
     Black and white is an interpretation. 
          Color is a duplication."
Clyde Butcher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.