Great Ouse at Ely

Today I met up with my friend L at Ely. Obviously we started the day with tea and cake, then picked up some sandwiches and went for a walk along the river and through a park, stopping for our picnic at a bench overlooking the river and railway with countryside stretching as far as the eye could see. Ely used to be an island before the fens were drained in eighteenth century, and the famous cathedral (as seen in the Extra) is sometimes referred to as the ship of the fens. I like that you can still get views of most of the cathedral unobscured by developments (better than in my photo).

Just a reminder that G and I are organising a blipmeet at Ely on Tuesday 12th September. I'll post more info in early Sept, but we're likely to meet at the Barton Road car park at 10am and then head off to The Almonry tea shop by the cathedral for refreshments  http://www.elycathedral.org/visit/refreshments/the-almonry-restaurant   If it's bad weather we can visit inside the cathedral and if it's nice we can explore the town and down by the river. Do please reply to my post on Activities if you haven't done so already and if you're likely to be coming along, so I have an idea of numbers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.