Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Chalkhill Blue - TT114

Field guide in hand, I am pretty sure this is a male chalkhill blue rather than a common one.  Well, it would make sense as I found it at the top of a chalk hill.  I was pretty pleased, as it's the first half decent blip of a blue I've taken this year.  Unsurprisingly, it was in the Morn Hill butterfly reserve, where 2 vanloads of South Downs National Park people were busy pulling out ragwort because the land is now being grazed.  Let's hope all the cinnabar moths have finished with families this year.  (Well, they have now!)

Like other blues, this is a very small butterfly, but appears pretty feisty.  I saw a couple of them, both bombing browns and even peacocks, which are at least twice their size.  Small enough for TT?  I hope so, I'm tagging it anyway.  Many thanks to osuzanna for hosting.

The flower it's feeding off is knapweed - greater, I think..

The rest of the day has been running around like a maniac, so no change there.  Enjoy your evening, peeps  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.