Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Butterfly teeth, MonoMonday132, 'Taste'

I have challenged myself to do all JDO's MonoMondays this month.  She's already given the 5 subjects for August: 'Taste' for today, followed by Touch, Sound, Smell and Sight.  I think they sound fab - thanks JDO

And, of course, being this summer I had to go for a butterfly.  When I went out this morning he was actually on my front step begging me to blip him.  Besides, I got intrigued.  If butterflies feed exclusively on nectar, which is sweet, they have an enormous advantage over us mere humans - they never have to go to the dentist.  At least, I never heard of a butterfly with teeth, did you?  And, for them, does sweet nectar taste the same in any way to the way we taste honey for example.  Perhaps to them it tastes like burger and chips?

Anyway, a red admiral sucking up nectar from a buddleia bush is my entry for MM Taste and, in case you prefer it that way, I've put him in colour in Extras (after all, it is all a matter of taste!).

Have a happy evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.