This Is Not Just A Wall ....

.... it's an M&S wall.

I had to go to Epping this morning and snapped the green wall on the upper storey of M&S Simply Food. My main pic is of the wall that faces east and the one in extras south. I noticed how, not surprisingly, different plants have been used for the two aspects. One of the main plants in the south-facing wall is Erigeron karvinskianus, Mexican fleabane. I used to grow and sell lots of this. It's great for hot dry locations.

This afternoon we picked up my S2000. Lovely to have her back. :) I carried on from the garage to Sheering to the award winning Mayfield Farm Bakery. I was hoping they might have Lammas loaves, it being Lammas Day. Nobody there had heard of it. They had some beautiful bread though. (Extras) Lammas is a celebration of the start of harvest. I like this Robert Burns song about it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AoszNAGmPuQ

Today's poem is from The Shape of the Fire by Theodore Roethke https://allpoetry.com/The-Shape-Of-The-Fire

My link is of the whole poem. I have only verse four in my book. The first three verses are extremely weird. The final two seem to me as though they are from a different poem. I like verse four with its 'minnowy world' and the 'glad hen on the hill'. It could have been England until I read of the flicker. Blip has taught me that this is an American bird from the woodpecker family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.