An Eye To Dive Into

I couldn't find anything to photograph down the field this morning so after I'd posted a letter in town I went to Amwell Nature Reserve as it was raining and at least I could sit in a hide there and hope.

There are a couple of horses that graze in a field next to the track that leads to the reserve and they were sheltering from the rain under trees. I started talking to them and then remembered that I had an apple in my bag left from the other day. I bit pieces off and shared it between them. The horse in my pic was the bolder of the two. I let it nibble my arm, blew up its nose and couldn't stop kissing it. What beautiful animals they are. As I sat in the hide afterwards I enjoyed breathing in the faint horsey whiff from my skin.

Today's poem is Exchanges by Ernest Dowson. https://hellopoetry.com/poem/72020/exchanges/

ED belonged to the Decadent Movement. Their subject matter was daring and they delighted in peversion. ED met the subject of this poem when she was eleven and idolised her for the rest of his life. She inspired the phrase of his, "faithful in my fashion." This in turn inspired the Cole Porter song from Kiss Me Kate, "Always True To You In My Fashion." We also have ED to thank for "days of wine and roses" and "gone with the wind." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.