Tit, Willlow Emerald

I thought about taking Ollie dog to Fishers Green but it was much too hot. She pants like a little steam engine.

We amused ourselves at home. We got a nice image of our chiffchaff calling, "Weet." Then a blue tit called, "Tsee." A troupe of long-tailed tits called, "Tsirrup."  I was delighted to spot this Willow Emerald damselfly in Butterfly Alley. It wasn't far from where I captured the first on our property in July last year. These spreadwings used to be quite rare but are very quickly colonising the south east. I'm fairly sure my ID is correct as Roy Woodward a local recorder verified my sighting from last year.  Shame that my pic is a bit rubbish, it was over exposed and I've done the best I can with it.

Lots of common blue butterflies on the wing. I've added one to extras, even though the background isn't pleasing, as I like its coiled proboscis 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.