Silver Washed Fritillary

The 4 of us did a tree top discovery trail this morning; kind of like Go Ape but it was divided into three sections: tough, really tough and just zip lines. I'm proud to say Tony and I did the lot even though it was physically and mentally right at my limit and we all absolutely loved the zip lines. It was certainly a fun and original way to spend a 20th wedding anniversary. We had a delicious dinner out too :-)

I'm afraid I only had my iPhone with me this morning, but it's not too bad a capture of this Sillver Washed Fritillary. I've looked them up in my book and incredibly the caterpillars only eat violets. Not only that, but they feed mostly at night and hide quite a long way from their food source during the day. The eggs are laid singly in tree bark near some food plants. How the tiny caterpillars find the violets is a wonder of nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.