Abstract Thursday : : Web

ABSTRACT : 1)something detached from concrete or physical reality....2)art that does not attempt to represent external reality but seeks to achieve its effect using shapes, forms, colors and textures 

I caught this almost perfect web within the bamboo just as the light was shining on it. It is hellishly difficult to focus on the spider OR the web when there are things for the camera to focus on behind it. Despite its symmetry, I still find it rather abstract, although I'm learning that I'm not quite sure how I would define abstract any more. It strikes me that a photograph is by definition not  abstract art, unless it is modified out of camera. I didn't do that because I love the shape of spider webs, so I'll leave it to you to decide....

Some time over the weekend I will be taking pictures of the  biggest blue agave with the biggest blooming stalk I have ever seen. It is leaning dangerously over our driveway and Pedro and his crew are going to take it out on Monday before it falls down taking with it the wall behind which it is planted. It should be an interesting show to watch.

It was once a magnificent, sculptural plant. Now it is no longer blue but an advancing yellow/brown, its 'leaves collapsing on top of each other and forming channels for oozing agave syrup. The bees, goldfinches and even a ground squirrel are loving it. But I'm not loving the sticky pools forming underneath it. I'll miss it but not in its current form....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.