By George She's Got It!

'I wore my coat, with golden lining
Bright colours shining, wonderful and new
And in the east, the dawn was breaking
And the world was waking
Any dream will do

A crash of drums, a flash of light
My golden coat flew out of sight
The colours faded into darkness
I was left alone!' - Joseph

My dream over the last few weeks was just to catch a glimpse of this elusive butterfly the Brown Hairstreak and today I did. Two in fact! 

Am calling her Eliza as Henry Higgins popped to mind as I nearly jumped for joy knowing I'd got it! Third time lucky in the woods, dogs at my heels scouring the canopy and hedgerows I was willing one to appear.

Eliza I know is definitely female as they come down to lay eggs on the blackthorn secretively whereas the males very rarely descend or even fly as they feed from the honeydew on the tree tops. She opened her wings to confirm the issue. See Extra. 

My second Extra is another female ovipositing on a branch which was fascinating to watch as she walked down the twig rotating round it carefully placing the eggs as she went. Just wished I was nearer. 

 Feeling very chuffed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.