LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Prints

Spent the day in the darkroom at the Edinburgh Photographic Society. It was very cold till I managed to find all the switches to turn things on. It was really good to have such a large and well equipped darkroom to myself, the bench for the chemical trays was even heated! Only gripe was that the impressively old fashioned print drier didn't give out any heat though I found a small heated one in one of the smaller rooms.

Being on my own I was able to have a try at the Sabattier effect (rear print). I had no reference material on which to base my experimentation and I ended up developing the prints for too long before flashing them with light and they were very dark. I'm really pleased with the front print though as I have not been able to get the negative scanned as the white water is too dense. I will be selenium toning them next week which should give them a lifetime of well over a century possibly several centuries apparently, as well as making them look a bit richer. although I will be amazed if they can get much richer, the black especially are much better than any digital prints I've had made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.