SecondSeason

By SecondSeason

New neighbours

As much as I enjoy the Monday Mono challenge, this opportunity came along today and so just had to go with it!  This lovely creature (and friends - see extras) were right next door chomping on the neighbours flowers and shrubs.  Over the past few years they’ve increased their wanderings through our neighbourhood and have gotten very brave.  In fact, in January they were in our backyard eating seeds from the bird feeder they’d knocked over.  

So this morning, I followed them as they meandered their way through numerous front yards on our street.  At one point they came so close that I felt if I stretched my hand out I could’ve touched them.  Okay, maybe not quite, but they were oh so close and very trusting.  These deer are called Coastal blacktail and there were 2 does and 1 young buck.  I did a bit of research as the spotted doe is very uncommon in these parts and I believe she’s what’s called a ‘piebald’ deer.  Their colouration is due to a rare inherited genetic variation (defect) that affects less than 1% of the deer population.

Tomorrow my love and I are heading to Gabriola Island to spend some time with our son, his wife and their 2 littles.  Our daughter in law’s parents own property there and we’ve been invited to come for a visit.  

I admire so many of your ocean and seascapes and am excited to see what I can see!  I’ve been told that wifi connection there is iffy, so I most likely won’t be keeping in touch this week.  I’ll catch ya next week though so until then…good bye, au revoir, adios, ciao, auf Wiedersehn, cheerio!  That’s all I could remember off the top of my head. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.