Catching the light

A busy day. Meetings. Assessments. Answering e-mails. 
The rain started as I started homeward on the bike. The camera stayed in my pocket. The rain has persisted since I got back. 
Tonight's blip is of a small piece which stands guard on a chest of drawers in our bedroom.
Last evening, S and I joined members of her book club, and spouses (a number of whom, like me, are members of the Blokes Book Club), to read aloud Under Milk Wood. It was great fun. I had a number of small parts (fifth drowned, little boy, Butcher Beynon, Dai Bread, Cherry Owen, Sinbad Sailors, Third boy, Child), and at one point held a conversation with myself. I enjoyed putting my spin on the marvellous text. I first read it as a fifth former; after the English teacher had played us a record of a BBC broadcast in which Dylan Thomas took part. I was caught by his words then and am still. Our copy of the book (an Aldine paperback) was bought when we were students in Dunedin; for 6s.3d. (about $12 in today's money)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.