Irony free zone

The faith that I love the best, says God, is hope.

Claire drives me to Lanark station at early-o-clock. It's looking like a fine day. By the time I get to Central my Orlando flight is already delayed by over 2 hours.

The hop to Manchester is on time and I splash out company money for entry to one of the lounges. I even get to join the weekly all-hands call. And then it's a plane full of families heading to Orlando for Disney. I plug in my noise cancelling earphones and work, read, view my way across.

The flight is an hour longer than scheduled - to avoid a weather system, apparently. Global Entry delivers me to the baggage carousel in no-time-flat and I get to watch other people's luggage go round for a good ten minutes. I stand under an aircon unit - Florida is humid.

At the hotel,I check-in, dump my bag on my king-sized, and go meet Gáspár. We get the book tidied for release and press the 'publish' button. Go download a sample chapter at http://BDDbooks.com !

Despite the constant drip of food on the flight, I'm hungry. I grab a $10 sandwich at the hotel shop and head to the bar for a beer. Instead, due to a comical misunderstanding of the term "IPA", I end up with a Bud Lite, which I can't finish.

Around every corner is an old friend/colleague, a social media acquaintance, or a new soul to be conversed with. It's going to be a busy week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.