Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Glads

Every time I look out the window at our garden I get angry as it was hurriedly planted by the seller/developer with no forethought or planning, plants are in the wrong place (meaning shade loving plants are in the sunniest spot of the garden), and it was very badly planted on a thin layer of soil covering builders rubbish, and they chose the cheapest plants ever  ...when I say I get angry that is putting it politely, their ears must burn daily with all my cursing at their incompetence! The grass has been destroyed by fertiliser burn (they did not water it after putting it down) and there are weeds everywhere, those horrible vine type that wrap around each and every plant in the garden.

As a result the garden has to be rectified and as it takes years to get established we do not want to wait too long before doing it, we want to enjoy the garden now and not in 10 year's time. So this morning I met a friend who is a landscape gardener, and together we went to meet a brilliant young garden designer/horticulturist (what are they called these days?) who my friend knows, who has been emailing me with suggestions based on the many photos I have sent her. We had a very long meeting discussing what can be done and I must say I am very excited about it. Through my friend I am getting the very generous trade discount on the plants and this young designer does not charge for her time as we are getting the plants from the garden centre where she works. It will be such a major improvement I cannot wait to get it done, but we will only start in September and plant in stages, with not everything being done at once.

So it had to be a flower blip today for Tiny Tuesday, my beautiful white glads that are inside the house in a vase and at least I can look at them and smile, instead of looking at the garden and wanting to cry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.