DAY ONE - FRIDAY 4TH AUGUST

TRAIN TRAVEL AND TAPAS

Bus to Newcastle then train to London Kings Cross.  First Class so there was food and drink included.  Train journey was fine and we arrived at Kings Cross on time.  The itinerary I got from trainline showed that I now had to get a tube to Victoria. No problems there.  Then I was supposed to get the Gatwick Express to Burgess Hill ( where Becky and Mike live ).  However when I looked at the departure board I saw that the train I wanted was cancelled. Panic.

Went to enquiries and the lady there suggested an alternative - which departed in 6 mins from Platform 17.  I was at Platform 2 so I started walking - and walking .... Platform 17 was so far away I feared I would miss the train. I didn't but it was a close call.  Of course there were lots of others dashing on to this train trying to get to Gatwick - or Brighton -  due to their train being cancelled.  So it was packed.  I did get the last seat and had an interesting conversation with the chap next to me.  He had missed his flight at Heathrow and had to get to Gatwick for an alternative. 

So I got to Burgess Hill where Mike picked me up in the car and took me home.  ( He had worked from home that day ).  Becky arrived home later - her train from central London had been cancelled too.  ( What a nightmare the train service is down there )

After a quick catch up, unpacking and a change of outfit we walked into the town centre for our meal at a Tapas place. Took my blip shot as we walked through the park.

I had never had tapas before so it was quite exciting.  Tried a lot of different dishes.  Still found room for a pud - churros and chocolate sauce  ( see extra shot ) - another first. Then home for more chat before bed. 

Steps today - 15,615

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.