Reflections

I suppose lots of people would regard my hike/climb yesterday as a "failure" because I didn't get to the summit. It's not my mindset, but for lots of people it is.

That thought came to me on the way home last night, but not at the time. Then I remembered one of my friends (a few years younger) who has rheumatoid arthritis and struggles to walk these days.

Another (also a bit younger) has been diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease recently.

Those thoughts were brought back at Rotary this morning, with mention of another friend (the same age as me) who died of motor neuron disease in 2014 after a year of suffering. The context was him (and me) climbing Mt Kilimanjaro to raise money for charity.

It's always worthwhile to be reminded how lucky I am to be able to get out there and hike/climb for 5 or 6 hours. A weak knee doesn't count as failure.

The Blip is the serious business end of Rotary. Coffee and bacon rolls.  Oh, and the weekly fundraising raffle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.