Here comes the rain.

This morning when I got up, this was the view from my window. The wind was howling and the rain almost horizontal. Luckily, when I was out yesterday, I'd spoken to a taxi driver and booked a run down to the station this morning.

Now, I thought the trains would be the same frequency from Oban to Glasgow as the Tweedbank - Edinburgh service. Unfortunately not! The 0858 train would have been ideal had it not benn that I had an "off peak" return. The next train is 1211, over three hours later. I spoke to the lass in the ScotRail shop and although she was new to the job, she didn't see how there would be a problem if I bought a single ticket to Taynult for £4.50 then used my return after this as it would be past "peak". She said she would explain to the conductor in the morning.

When the shout of "tickets, please" came, I was anxious not to be thrown off and I asked the conductor if the girl had spoken to him. He said not and asked for my ticket, my railcard, then some ID! I handed over my driving license just as he broke into a smile and it was okay, he was just winding me up!

I managed to get connections in Glasgow, then Edinburgh and was home about half past two. Sheba and Teefer have been all over me, so I reckon they must have missed me. I go up and collect the other two tomorrow, that could be a different story!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.