Jumping for Peanuts

My friend Carroll came over this morning to pick out one of the bookcases I am not taking with me to my new cottage. It was great to see her and I was quite happy when she chose the one that didn't require any work to free it up. The others were either in hard places to extract from, or were piled with stuff that is going to be sold. She and I easily moved and loaded the bookcase in her car. Then she came in for tea and we sat and talked for at least an hour. Sitting and talking with good friends is one of my favorite things to do.

After Carroll left I spent some time putting more pens in boxes and documenting what was in each box. I am still not finished sending all the pens to the couple who are selling them for me, but I am much closer. Today I filled up boxes #25 and 26. Goodness! That's a lot of boxes. Those pens have been providing some financial ease while I make this move. 

Later Carroll came back with a load of perfect small boxes for my move. She just moved herself so they were available. I've already used two to box up the stuff I liberated from Arvin's study when Dave and I were sorting through stuff the other day. So I did get stuff done. But I also spent about an hour on the deck feeding the jays and squirrels peanuts. I decided to do the peanuts in water trick and got some good action including today's blip. I will have to figure out some way to encourage birds to come to my new place while discouraging some of the pests that seem to want to join them in the feast. I know my neighbors won't enjoy having raccoons or rats in the neighborhood. So I don't want to provide food for them when I feed the birds. I may just focus on the hummingbirds and leave it at that. (I'll figure that out when I get settled in the new place.)

Thanks all for your kind words on yesterday's blip. Arvin and I designed that headstone long before he showed any signs of Alzheimer's. It makes me happy that he was right there with me designing it. I chose the Haiku because I knew he loved that form of writing and especially the work of Basho. He approved and together we submitted the design. Soon when I have a moment free I'll go up to Greenacres and check out the gravesite. Might just have a little chat with Arvin while I'm there too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.