Sora Rail

I saw a new bird today at Scudder Pond. I saw movement in the lily pads and grabbed a couple of shots. This was the clearer of the two. I was pretty sure it was a rail but it didn't look like the Virginia Rail I'd seen before. The Virginia had a thinner, more orange bill and had a more streamlined look. So when I got home I searched on Google and found out that what I'd seen was a Sora Rail. Good fun to see a new bird.

I had a good day today. I got up early and entered the last box of pens I had put together into the pen sale database I'm keeping for tax purposes. Then I met Helena at Eat Restaurant and had the French toast, an experience not to be missed if you are in Bellingham. It is filled with almond cream (a very light almond flavor) and was crisp on the outside and soft in the middle. The Canadian maple syrup finished the dish and it was so so good! Mmmm. I have to admit I ate mine all up. 

We drove home and worked together on Arvin's study. At first we were not in the mood but when we tackled his four drawer file cabinet we got into the flow and managed to go through the whole thing. Afterwards we sat quietly on the deck while H read the paper and I photographed some jays. Then we went to the mall for some retail therapy. We both found some great leggings and then went to the food court for a smackeral. 

After I dropped Helena off I came home, fed the kitties, and took off for a walk in the park. I met a couple sitting on a bench near Derby Pond. They were watching a young osprey (see extra) who kept acting like he might take a dive into the pond as the couple said he had before. He never did but it was fun sitting and talking to the couple. While we talked a young woman sat and meditated nearby. (Second extra.)

As I walked home I spotted movement at Scudder Pond and caught this photo of a Sora Rail. All together it was a fine day. The air is clean and clear again and that makes me very happy. The day started with a misty rain but cleared to blue skies and hills we could actually see. Delightful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.