stujphoto

By stujphoto

A challenge accepted...

Wandering round Seafield Pond late this afternoon I noticed a swarm of midges buzzing over the reeds at the water's edge. Apart from feeling distinctly itchy myself, I recognised this as a definite photographic challenge. I manually focussed on the reeds and racked up my ISO to a 1000 and shot a sequence of shots just above the reeds. I was quite pleased to get two or three midges sharp in most of my images but then had to use powerful noise reduction software to smooth out the tones of a very noisy image. I use DxO Optics Pro which is a bit costly but does a brilliant job on noisy images as using it in Prime mode, it samples a thousand pixels round each point to determine how reduce the noise. It takes a bit of time too (maybe a coupe of minutes for each shot) but the results are well worth while and make using higher ISO with noisy cameras like my Panasonic Lumix RX330 worth the effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.