Subjective

I think most people will know that climbs are graded. In the UK our system has an overall difficulty grade and a complimentary technical grade - thus something that has more risk or exposure but the moves only present the same technical difficulty will be graded harder in reflection of that risk. Obviously this is a subjective process, but subsequent 'peer review', usually sorts out any discrepancies.
Far far more subjective however is the thorny subject of the quality of a route. This is usually expressed in stars - * or ** or ***  (the guidebook writers of the Lakes are notorious for giving too many away) but by and large its usually a fair indication, and has become my preferred method of selecting my routes.
So....

Without question (that should immediately raise some questions...) the finest 'mountaineering' day out in the Lakes is Pinnacle Ridge on St Sunday Crag. It has only one flaw, it is simply too short. Alpine in nature, dramatic moves, stunning scenery and difficult to get to, it's a joy. I return to it time and again. It fully deserves all of its stars.
But that does mean that I've not sampled many of the other routes on St Sunday. So today, knowing I had to be in Penrith later I set off determined to try something else in the vicinity.
Chockstone Gully got a glowing write up in several guides, some giving 2 stars one giving 3. I paused and looked up at Pinnacle Ridge as I passed, but gritted my determination and carried on. It's impossible not to find, a deep dark cleft in this wonderful mountain, and soon I was heading up loose steep scree. The flanks got darker and steeper, the climbing, well the climbing didn't really appear. The steep scree kept on, little, less than head height, obstacles appeared, but frankly it was sooooooo disappointing. I found myself at the summit feeling somewhat short changed.
So...

I down climbed Pinnacle Ridge, something I'm not sure I've ever done before. Not quite as much fun as up, but a certain amount of interest - and confusion for the couple of climbers I met. I've forwarded them this picture as a souvenir of their day in return for them being my blip models.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.