Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Counting the time...

...until we go on holiday to Kenya. Six more sleeps to be exact. I am getting excited and lie in bed at night planning what I will pack - Gavin rolls his eyes and says, 'just pack your suitcase and be done with it'! We are limited to 15kg per person so I must plan it very carefully, and although the days are warm I am told the nights are very chilly as despite almost being on the equator the camps we are visiting are quite high, one of them in an area with an altitude of between 4000ft and 7000ft and you are given hot water bottles at night which is a big clue that it will be cold. Of course my main planning is what to take in my camera bag - I usually take too many lenses or leave behind one I really wish I had brought.

Last night we watched the movie Viceroy's House which I enjoyed very much - especially poignant as this year is the 70th anniversary of the partition of India. Not Britain's finest moment, but thankfully things have moved on from those days of Imperialistic rule.

It was a beautiful sunny day today, and we seemed to waste it by going shopping for a suit for Thomas. He has to wear a suit for sixth form next year and as buying a suit falls into dad's department, we went today when Gavin was home. (I have no idea how a suit should fit or look!) We bought one a few weeks ago but ideally he needs a second one too.

Thank you for all the kind words on my self portrait yesterday, its sitting very nicely on the popular page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.