a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Reaching

Mono Monday: Distant - Reaching

The Aphid's challenge for this week's Mono Monday challenge is "distant".  I've been tied to my desk at work today (not literally you understand), so I've had limited opportunity to go in search of a more landscape focused solution to this challenge, which I think would probably have been my approach in other circumstances. Instead I have had to fall back on ingenuity and Affinity Photo.  

I rather enjoyed the challenge of creating perspective by foreshortening the two hands.  Putting it into practice was a touch more tricky than I originally envisaged.  This is actually a montage of three shots, (1) plain black background, (2) hand reaching up and (3) hand reaching down.  I was acutely aware of the need to ensure that the lighting supported the illusion of a single shot.

I used to have a little remote trigger for my Nikon, but I have not been able to find it since getting back from our trip to Scotland last month.  I've looked in all the pockets etc, but I just cannot track it down.  So my very reluctant conclusion is that its been lost.  Tonight's shot has proved to me that I definitely need to sort out a replacement sooner rather than later.  Trying to take these shots of my own hand whilst also having to physically press the shutter release on the camera was rather challenging.  It would have been so much easier if I could have persuaded someone to model for me :-)

Once I had taken the shots I realised that the camera settings were wrong, so these are rather too noisy for my liking.  Argh!  Fortunately with the mono conversion the noise becomes grain and its not quite so awful.  But I was blowed if I was going to faff around trying to take these shots again(!) =:^o>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.