Three Go Camping

The reason I bought the little inflatable tent was so I could bring the Little Misses away by myself. Today was the day!!
I set my alarm for 7am so we could get an early start but annoyingly it didn't go off again. Obviously the screen being smashed to smithereens has affected the alarm! Mr K took it to the Apple Shop as arranged yesterday at 4.30pm to be told it was to late to repair it and I've have to leave it or drop it in next week. Why the bloody hell do they make appointments that late in the day?!!
So it's still smashed in clearly in no fit state to wake me up in the morning!
Anyway, Miss L woke me up at 8.30am because she remembered I'd said we should leave by 9am. In order to get to McDonalds in time for hash browns Southwold in good time.
The journey was painless apart from the last hour from the fast A14 dual carriageway to the winding country road  to Southwold, The car in front obviously thought she would career out of control if she ventured above 40mph. And obviously anyone coming towards her on the opposite side was a deadly threat - only averted by almost stopping.Every time. Grrrrrrrrr!!!!!
But we got here eventually. We turned down to Walberswick rather than coming straight to the campsite. It was HEAVING!!!! When we were here a few weeks ago it was before the schools had broken up so it was relatively quiet. I couldn't believe the difference! We dodged the hundreds of pedestrians and got one of the last spaces in the overflow carpark down by the harbour.
We walked up to the cafe for lunch - chips, ham, egg and chips, and baked potato with beans and cheese, Sprite, a ridiculous chocolate milkshake with a flake, strawberries, chocolate sprinkles and whipped cream, and tea.
Walking back down to the estuary for crab fishing we went into one of the lovely gift shops and it all went a bit wrong. I'll gloss over the next forty five minutes! Suffice it to say there were tears - from me and Miss E - and a very real threat to get in the car and drive home. 
I worried that I'd made a terrible mistake bringing them on holiday alone. But once Miss E stopped wailing and hyperventilating, and then stopped looking as though she was chewing a wasp, and then deigned to speak to me again (all of which took about half an hour!!) the day took a massive upward turn. Crab fishing was as fun as ever and no-one fell in, whoop whoop!
It was funny seeing the campsite on the other side of the estuary - about 50 yards away - but knowing it was a twenty minute drive rather than the usual five minute ferry ride. 
I had been a bit nervous about putting the tent up.I've never actually done it, only watched Mr K. I needn't have worried - the Little Misses did it all by themselves in about ten minutes. Just brilliant!!!
Within half an hour of getting here I was sat with my feet up, soaking up the fabulous view with a cup of tea. And the Little Misses were climbing trees and filming some sort of epic adventure using iMovie.
I'm sat writing this at 9pm drinking hot chocolate, wrapped in my old lady blanket, with a hot water bottle on my knee watching the beam of light from the lighthouse hypnotically sweeping round.
I wish Mr K was here but it's pretty bloody good all the same!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.