Beach Day

Before we came to Southwold I'd been worried that I might feel a bit scared in the tent on my own. Listening to all the axe murderers prowling round the tent in the middle of the night!!
I needn't have worried. I didn't have any bad vibes and felt completely happy - more than happy - reading outside the tent and then snuggling down into my sleeping bag at about 10pm.
Then I heard someone coming in to the tent.
Oh. My. God.
Armed only with a torch on my head and my book I unzipped the bedroom and stuck my head out. Not quite sure what I was going to say to the mad axe murderer who had come in.
Miss E sat up looking scared and hissed "what is it?"
"Just stay there" I told her. 
I'll protect you with my torch and book!!!
Imagine my relief when I saw a hedgehog snuffling about in the corner!!!
A giant hedgehog!!
It was face first in a packet of chocolate biscuits, munching away.
I called Miss E to come and see and she was giddy!! We got so close and watched it for a few minutes. See extras for a rubbish photo!
The rest of the night passed uneventfully and we woke up this morning to beautiful sunshine and a fabulous day at the seaside.
After a very relaxed breakfast it was time to put the tent away. The Little Misses were less helpful than they were yesterday. In fact they behaved like little Princesses and when I asked them to go and do the washing up they looked as though I'd suggested they shovel shit for the day!
We had to have words!
Once we'd eventually packed away we headed to the beach. I parked in our usual secret spot and we were soon digging holes, building sandcastles, swimming, paddling, surfing in the waves and collecting pebbles.
Lunch was scrummy fish and chips on the sand. It's a good job they were delicious - £18 for small fish and chips twice, chips and a tea.
After I'd eaten my fish and chips I realised I hadn't got my tea so I went back to get it. The man was very apologetic.
When I checked the receipt later I noticed I hadn't paid it in the first place so no wonder I hadn't got it!! Whoops!
The Little Misses went back into the sea for a last surf and then it was to the arcade to waste money on the penny slots, air hockey, play-along-piano and grab-a-sweet machines.
Eventually I dragged them away to the harbour for crab fishing. The tide was rushing in and we didn't have much luck. Our bucket got a hole in it, Miss E's line got stuck in rocks and we had to snap it to get it out and we only caught two crabs!!
But it was fun. They loved it as much as ever!
Then it was home. The journey was painless - the Little Misses both fell asleep pretty quickly and I carried on listening to Swallows and Amazons on Audible. We started it on the way to Southwold yesterday in preparation for our adventures.
Just before we got home Miss E exclaimed "I don't know who I'm going to fling myself at first, Daddy or Archie!!!" So sweet!
Daddy and Archie were delighted to see us. And the Little Misses were delighted to see them too, telling them all about our fabulous holiday. 
It was a very special couple of days with my Little Misses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.