Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hoverfly

I realised that our garden job is too much for our gardener to plant, so this morning I had a landscape gardener come around to give me a quote for planting - I was rather upset to discover that the reason our lawn has died is because the grass was planted on shingle and builders rubble with very little soil. It is now necessary to get a digger in to lift all that out, bring turf in and replant the lawn. Plus the planting of the beds, which he says are just filled with rubbish that are not even worth moving (and I agree) is about 3 weeks of planting so this is becoming a major job. In fact he suggested I take photos and sue the developer for such an appalling job, the likes of which he has never seen in his life before. All of the box has that caterpillar disease so it has to be thrown out and they planted ivy in the flower beds which is just taking over all the plants. Did I mention that I feel like screaming at the developers?! It was so depressing that I have decided not to let it get me down but rather to look forward to a healthy and well planted garden that will happen in the future.

This little hoverfly seems to be colour coordinated today, and the cheerful yellow was pleasing to see. I was also pleased to see that the birds have found my feeders and are eating voraciously! I saw a nuthatch on the feeder yesterday which we did not see at our previous house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.