"I always wanted to be famous!"

Our village is cut in half to traffic at the moment due to resurfacing of the main road. There are at least four sets of roadworks close by which is causing traffic chaos.

As I didn't have a blip today I went down to the roadworks to get a shot of the activity. There were lots of big vehicles (many more than showing in the blip) and I got some photos of the men working with them.

The workman in my blip had been shovelling tarmac from the back of a lorry most of the time that I was there. He must have seen me taking photos as he came up to me and was joking about me being a press photographer and how he'd always wanted to be famous. I told him about Blip and he was very happy to pose for me. He was also very proud of the job that they were doing - it it's certainly looking good so I hope that he's right!

Last night I went to the free showing of Asunder - a film made from archive footage and extracts from diaries of the home front in Sunderland and the North East (hence the spelling) in WW1. It was very good and well worth seeing if it's in your area - it's doing the rounds of community spaces. However the director's Q&A session was dreadful as answers that could have been explained in a couple of sentences was in such detail that it felt interminable and was extremely boring which was a shame after such a good film.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.