The Chinese Bridge at Croome

Today's route north took us past Worcester at lunchtime so we diverted to Croome. We find lately that breaking our journeys at National Trust properties means we get to have a better lunch (even if like today it's just sandwiches) and the opportunity to stretch our legs and get a blip, so it's win, win, win.

We've stopped for the night at Congleton in Cheshire and will finish the journey tomorrow. No meals in the hotel tonight, kitchen refurbishments I gather, so we walked down to the local pub. It looked like a nice place but it wasn't a total success. I've not been served such an awful meal for a long, long time. I would have finished eating it and got out until my third sausage shattered into pieces as I tried to cut it. I don't know how a professional cook can not cook a sausage? It's not exactly Masterchef, is it? Of course if you microwave a leftover sausage instead of cooking it you can make it bullet proof. 

Anyway a complaint was made and our tab was wiped. Fair treatment, but I'd have rather had an edible meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.