Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Day out in Dalkeith

The day was hot even when I took Archie out for his morning sniff around the block. We left him with his peanut butter toy, and both went to the gym, thus we'd breakfasted and were ready for action an hour or so earlier than usual.

We've been meaning to go back to Dalkeith Country Park, having discovered how wonderful it was a while ago, so off we set. And what a great day we had. I took my walking stick, and we set off on the Old Wood Walk, where we walk through an ancient oak trees forest (extra). Last time we were there, I was rather distressed, because it was quite far (for me) and we didn't really know how much farther it was. So this time I knew what I was letting myself in for - 2hours! 7,773 steps! 5.3km! I am fair puggled this evening, not to mention sore and stiff. But it must be good for me, all this exercise...

Unfortunately, we hadn't reckoned on the muddy bits of paths in the forest. Archie was delighted, and headed straight to the nearest stinking black stagnant pond, then looked like a grubby little pig for the rest of the day (hence a distance shot with him in not too much detail). Funnily enough no other dog we met, and there were many, especially back at the cafe, was muddy.

We left him in the car for a snooze while we had a cuppa, a blueberry muffin, a large ice cream for me, while JR did a bit of bonus birthday shopping in the fabulous Restoration Yard

He was sick on the way home! He hasn't been sick in the car for ages. In fact, we thought he'd grown out of it. He's clean and sweet smelling, de-burred, and snoring across my legs as we speak. Probably dreaming of his lovely walk in the woods...

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.