Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Focus!

In all of the thousands of photos I've taken of hummingbirds, I don't think I've ever gotten this perspective.  Although this young male isn't yet showing any red feathers, he's got the classic "five o'clock shadow" on this throat that is a precursor to a bright, red gorget.  The flower is a small annual salvia that the hummers always seem to love.

Still a handful of male hummingbirds hanging around but their time is drawing to a close.  The males always leave much earlier than the females and juveniles.  See Extra for a slightly scruffy looking male.

I had a most enjoyable lunch today with a friend whom I've not seen in about 8 years - we had the best time laughing and catching up on each other's lives.  Great fun and we ended up lingering until nearly 3 in the afternoon..

When I got home from lunch, both of the Monarchs that eclosed this morning were rearing to go.  Both females again which puts my year total at 2 males and 5 females.  One of today's releases was for my husband's Aunt Millie who was a wonderful, funny, wise woman who I miss very much.  The second release was for LoisBiz in memory of her beloved brother, Ken.  They were both fluttering around in the enclosure when I got home, so no photos.  I'll do better tomorrow!

 I'm keeping a list of people and furry companions in who's memory I'll release monarchs  - just let me know if you want me to add someone.  

I'm still monarch cat sitting for my friends and the last of their larger cats are all preparing to pupate, leaving just a few early instar cats in that big enclosure.  I'm hoping she might want to take some of mine, since I'm still (as recently as this morning) finding eggs and early instar cats in my garden.  

Continuing to have beautiful weather.  It's been a really temperate August without the 90+F temps that we usually see.  No complaints from me - cooler is better.

Thanks for stopping by...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.