Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number 39 and 40

Well, my insect run had to stop eventually, right?  And I was determined that today would be the day.  My plan was to blip a hummingbird and I even had the perfect shot (see HERE on Flickr).  But then an adorable juvenile Blue-gray gnatcatcher showed up (Yardbird #39) and so I had a new plan.  Which went right into the bin when Yardbird # 40, this female American Redstart made an appearance.  I do love redstarts (a warbler species) and even though they breed in this area, I rarely see them in my yard except during the late summer/fall.  You can see the gnatcatcher in Extra - he's a cutie.

I'm definitely showing this cold who is boss.  The cough is lingering, so I declined an invite for an all day birding trip to the NJ Shore tomorrow.  Wiser not to be pushing things, nor to be possibly be spreading germs.

I released 15 monarchs today (including one of my friend, Barb's for whom I am caterpillar-sitting this week).  They all flew for loved ones - including my own great grandmother and great grandfather.  I never met him, as he died during WWII (I believe) but my great grandmother was very special to me. She passed in the 1970's at the age of 97.  Other butterflies flew for brothers, sisters, sons, daughters, parents, grandparents and friends.  

I had some good butterflies in the garden today, including a very fresh Northern Pearly Eye satyr which you can see HERE.  Had I not been determined to blip a bird today, this would have been my choice.

Looking forward to seeing niece, nephew and grand-nephew on Monday!  The Army is sending them to Texas for his next assignment, so we won't be able to see them as often as we have during the time they've been in DC.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.