Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Brown Eyes

As many photos as I've taken of these Hummingbird Clearwing Moths, I don't think I've ever noticed the color of their eyes.  This one was in perfect light and maybe that is what helped to show off the color of the eyes.  Anyway, even though it's nothing rare or unusual, it makes a good blip for the day.  

I really intended to blip something other than an insect today, but honestly, there are just so many insect choices to be had right now...and in the blink of an eye they'll all be gone.  However, if you just can't stomach another insect, you can get a cute-bird fix HERE on Flick - a rather adorable little House Wren fledgling diligently and enthusiastically begging his mum for some insects.  You see, it all still comes back to the bugs, doesn't it?

I am feeling quite a lot better today other than expelling the demons form my lungs.  Definitely on the mend.  

Released 5 monarchs today, four for fellow blippers and one for a friend who lost her mother last year around this time.  And I got an amazingly heartfelt request from someone on FB who heard about what I was doing and wants me to release one for her brother.  She shared his story with me, and told me how very much she missed him.  In the last two years that I've been doing this, I've heard the most amazingly loving and wonderful stories.  It's a big part of why I do this - it reminds me about the goodness in people, and the capacity for boundless love.

And in other butterfly nursery news, the last of my 4 Black Swallowtail caterpillars has spun his cradle is is waiting to pupate.  Swallowtails aren't quite as predictable as monarchs in terms of emerging so I will just keep an eye on the chrysalids and look for the changes that signify that butterflies are about to appear.  And, there is a slight possibility that these may overwinter in their pupa state - we'll just have to wait and see.  

Thanks for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.