Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flower Friday ... with a Flower Fly

Thanks to Anni for continuing her Flower Friday challenge.  And you know I can never leave well enough alone - my flower (Queen Anne's Lace) had to include a fabulous little insect.  Well, actually not such a small insect as he is built to look like a fearsome bald-faced hornet...except that he is actually a harmless hover (flower) fly in the syrphidae family.  

I was out with my nature group this morning (we ended up logging about 6.5 miles today - ouch!) when one of the group spotted what she though was a hornet.  Knowing my interest in all things buggy, she called me over. I took a look through my lens and knew immediately that it was some sort of wasp-mimic fly - what a find!  Back at home I was able to ID it as Spilomya fusca.  I might add that he was well photographed by everyone in the group - quite the little rock star.

We saw a load of interesting insects including several thread-waisted wasps and ... a porcupine!  Unfortunately, the 'pine was well hidden behind some branches way up in a tree so impossible to photograph.  I have posted four other shots on Flickr, starting HERE with a swallowtail butterfly.  Worth a look if you have a minute.

Home by late afternoon, exhausted but quite pleased.  I'm sure I will sleep well tonight!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.