Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Great Spangled Beauty!

Well, I never expected to be blipping a beautiful, fresh looking butterfly at this time of year! I was pottering around on the patio with Big Daddy when some movement caught my eye and I saw this big beauty flutter over to the buddleia for a quick nosh. I was able to get off about a half dozen shots before she headed off. Not totally sure it is a female, but believe it is based on the size. She is a great spangled fritillary, a species that I last got a good look at in May when I blipped a pair in the poo. I was excited to get one 1) with wings spread, and 2) not in a pile of poo.

I put 8 other shots from today on Flickr, starting here. Included are high school class portraits of the cardinal kids, young Mortie exploring the patio, a poofy nuthatch, and hanging squirrel and a few other odd and ends.

Rocket say Meow Roar! (And he thanks you for all the comments!) He is busy napping at the moment, which is fitting for a 10 year old conspiracy theorist. It's hard work, you know.

Work tomorrow morning and then I hope to take an afternoon trip to the Space Farms Zoo, our local county zoo. I've never been, and have been meaning to get their since they opened in the spring. They close for the season at the end of next month, so I need to get shaking!

After some blip-discussion with Dave, aka Vodkaman, I have decided to activate my "critter cam" tonight to see if I can catch anything raiding the feeders. Stay tuned...

Happy Monday, blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.