GracieG

By GracieG

Toads and a Cheescake

An unlikely combination you may think!  Today was the annual garden party for the Hempstead Pond Toadwatch Volunteers, kindly hosted by the Toadwatch organiser and her husband.
Those who follow me will know that M and I help toads cross the road to their breeding ponds around February/March time each year, the results for 2017 haven’t been published yet, but I believe that well over 1000 toads were rescued from the road at Hempstead this year.
…and the cheesecake?  Well, we all take along an edible contribution to the party and so I made a baked vanilla cheesecake with a caramel sauce.  I’m glad most of it was eaten by the guests and most of what we did bring back was given to our neighbours…leaving just two pieces for M and I.   The recipe requires: 1 pack of shortbread fingers and 50g butter (for the base). Nearly two tubs of full-fat cream cheese,  nearly a large tub of full fat crème fraiche, sugar, flour, vanilla extract and three large eggs (for the filling) and then lots more sugar and half a large tub of double cream for the caramel sauce!   The recipe didn’t state how many calories it contained…just as well I think!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.